Sunday, February 28, 2010

In My Mailbox (7)

As always this meme is hosted by Kristi at The Story Siren! Thanks!

From Publishers
Hourglass (Evernight #3)
by Claudia Gray
To Be Published March 9th 2010 by HarperTeen
Hardcover, 352 pages

Summary: Bestselling author Claudia Gray’s Evernight series continues. In Hourglass, Bianca and Lucas have found a way to be together. But it means lying to the people who care about them the most.

After escaping from Evernight Academy, the vampire boarding school, Bianca and Lucas seek refuge with Black Cross, the elite group of vampire hunters led by Lucas’s stepfather. When Bianca’s close friend—the vampire Balthazar—is captured by Black Cross, Bianca knows she has to do whatever it takes to save him. But at what cost?


Hawksmaid: The Untold Story of Robin Hood and Maid Marian
by Kathryn Lasky
To Be Published May 4th 2010 by HarperCollins
Hardcover, 304 pages

Summary: She’s the headstrong daughter of Nottingham’s most famous falconer. But for Matty, hawks are more than family—they are her destiny. She can hear their thoughts, speak their language, and sense their every wingbeat. When Matty finds Marigold, a golden-eyed merlin abandoned in the wild, their connection is instant and magical. Marigold becomes Matty’s closest winged companion and her fiercest ally under the tyranny of Prince John and the sheriff of Nottingham. It’s up to Matty, Marigold, and their old friend Robin to save England.

A fantastical twist makes this a legendary world of royalty, daring adventure, and deadly peril that will appeal to fans of Gail Carson Levine and Shannon Hale. Newbery Honor author Kathryn Lasky soars to magnificent heights in this bold tale of bravery, romance, and the untold legend of Maid Marian and Robin Hood.

Swoon at Your Own Risk
by Sydney Salter
To Be Published April 5th 2010 by Graphia
Paperback, 368 pages

Summary: It’s the summer before senior year and Polly Martin has sworn off boys. Who needs the hurt and confusion? Five recent breakups have left her with an unnatural knowledge of NASCAR, the ultimate hiker’s outfit, a student council position, the sixth highest score on the Donkey Kong machine at the mall, and a summer job at Wild Waves with ex #2 Sawyer Holmes.
Success seems a sure thing when Polly’s grandmother, the syndicated advice columnist, Miss Swoon, moves in for the summer. Polly almost doesn’t mind sharing a room with her little sister, Grace. Think of all the great advice she’ll get!

Everything is going according to plan except... Miss Swoon turns out to be a man-crazy septuagenarian! And then there’s Xander Cooper. If only he wouldn’t keep showing up at Wild Waves with his adorable cousins every afternoon — and what is he writing in that little notebook?

No advice column in the world can prepare Polly for the lessons she learns when she goes on a group camping trip (with three too many ex-boyfriends). Polly is forced to see people for who they are — a blend of good and bad qualities that can’t be reduced to a list or a snappy answer in a Miss Swoon column.

8 comments:

Lea said...

Cool books! Swoon at Your Own Risk looks so cute!

Happy reading!

bclement412 said...

Awesome books! Hourglass looks amazing, I still need to read that series though =P

Here's what I got in my mailbox:
http://bclement412.blogspot.com/

Little Miss Becky :) said...

These look great! Need to read the Evernight series, have the first two. Enjoy these!

SB said...

Thanks for sharing!
SB


not too serious i hope

Tania said...

Great books hope you enjoy them!!!!!

Check out my In my mailbox
http://literarywonders.blogspot.com/2010/02/in-my-mailbox_28.html

Laura (The Bookie Bunch) said...

Awesome books! Love the cover of Hourglass.

Here's what I got this week: http://bookielaura.blogspot.com/2010/02/in-my-mailbox-2-28-10.html

Have an awesome booktastic Monday! :D
The Bookie Bunch

So Many Books, So Little Time said...

Man, I want Hourglass so bad! Happy reading!

Lori said...

Hawksmaid looks intriguing. Enjoy your books. Here's Mine.